Protect Yourself on LinkedIN

Hey girls,

Did you know LinkedIN allows third parties (i.e. products, people or services) that you have either recommended or followed on the site to use your NAME and PHOTO in LinkedIN ads? It also allows third parties to send you promotional content. I find this to be intrusive, don’t you?

According to LinkedIN, they notified users last month of the changes it was making on its privacy policy. LinkedIN advises we can opt-out of the changes, but fails to describe how. Implying we should figure it out for ourselves.

Steps to opt-out of receiving promotional content:
1. Click on your name (top right) to view drop down
2. Click on Settings
3. Click on Email Preferences
4. Click on Turn on/off Partner InMail
5. Unclick the two boxes and click Save Changes

Steps to opt-out of LinkedIN using your name and photo in ads:
1. Click on your name (top right) to view drop down
2. Click on Settings
3. Click on Account
4. Click on Manage Social Advertising
5. Unclick the box and click Save Changes

Steps to opt-out of LinkedIN sharing your info with 3rd party applications:
1. Click on your name (top right) to view drop down
2. Click on Settings
3. Click on Groups, Companies and Applications
4. Click on Turn on/off data sharing with 3rd party applications
5. Unclick the box and click Save Changes

I hope you find this helpful!

Posted on August 11, 2011, in LinkedIN, Privacy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Very helpful! Thank you so much for sharing this information!

  2. Girl, you are awesome. I just changed all of my settings. Nothing bugs me more than companies signing me up for things I don’t want.

  3. Thanks, as always for the info. I’m new on LinkedIN and trying to figure my way around it.

  4. And PS, just did all of those steps! Thanks Allison!!

  5. Oh geez. Really? I can’t believe how these networks require me to constantly stay on top of them. I heard that Facebook now has all of our phone numbers posted because they are synched to our cell phones!

Leave a comment